Today is #BellLetsTalk day and I sit here, reading through Twitter in Starbucks.  For the first time ever, I find myself actually able to relate to some of this years’ posts.  I think that is both beautiful and saddening at the same time.

We are all experiencing joys and struggles in life, just at different times and at different extremes. For me, the past nine months have utterly sucked. Despite knowing that I am defined by SO much more than the size of my friend group or whether I have a boyfriend, I have let these facts determine my happiness and self-confidence.

Days like today help me re-align my priorities, and act as the much-needed reminder that I am not alone. Although no individual can ever truly understand the situation of another, we are vulnerable and brave in opening up and sharing our story.

Through struggle one grows strength, resilience and self-awareness. I can not wait for the day that I too, am able to look back on my progress.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment